VIVARTE Chamber Music Festival 29.05.22



International Chamber Music Festival in the Tretyakov Gallery

The final program of the festival was opened with a Sonata by Antonio Vivaldi, an Italian composer from Venice whose creative genius blossomed in that city. He wrote operas for Venice's theatres and composed many famous instrumental concertos, sonatas and vocal works for the Pio Ospedale della Pietà Conservatory, where he was the musical mentor of young people for over 30 years. In the festival program, Vivaldi's music became a musical symbol of Venice, a city that was a sacred place for Diaghilev, where he spent many years on holiday and found his final resting place. The great impresario's tombstone bears the words: "Venice is the constant inspiration of our appeasements.

The program was continued with three compositions for solo guitar by contemporary composers, all of whom collaborated with the Diaghilev troupe. For example, the Spaniard Manuel de Falla wrote the ballet "The Three-Cornered Hat" with a pronounced national character and made several arrangements of Andalusian dances for another choreographic production. The French composers Georges Auric and Darius Milhaud also worked at Diaghilev's request in 1924-1926: the first wrote three ballets, and the second - a performance "Le Train Bleu", the genre of which he defined as a dance operetta.

Prokofiev created an unusual ballet score for choreographer Boris Romanov, who had participated in the productions of Diaghilev's entreprise in the early years of its existence. Romanov was also to have staged Prokofiev's ballet "Ala and Lolly", but the project was not realized, and the choreographer and composer successfully continued their collaboration ten years later, when the ballet "Trapeze" was created and staged in Paris.

The closing chord of the festival was the famous etude for 23 solo strings "Metamorphoses" by Richard Strauss, a German composer with whom Diaghilev collaborated in the 1910s. "Metamorphoses" is his last symphonic opus, composed in 1945. It is a very personal response to the military and political events of the time, and in its content the work resembles both a mournful ode (to all German culture, on the one hand, and the era of Romanticism, on the other) and an elegiac poem.


Marina Katarzhnova (violin)

Pavel Romanenko (viola)

Boris Andrianov (cello)

Pavel Stepin (double bass)

Dmitry Illarionov (guitar)

Olga Tomilova (oboe)

Igor Fedorov (clarinet)

Part I

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741).

Sonata in A minor for cello and basso continuo, RV 44 (between 1720-1730)

Arranged for Cello and Guitar by Dmitry Illarionov and Boris Andrianov

Performed by

Boris Andrianov cello

Dmitry Illarionov guitar

Manuel de Falla (1876-1946)

"In Memory of Claude Debussy" (Homenaje - Le Tombeau de Claude Debussy) for solo guitar (1920)

Georges Auric (1899-1983)

"Hommage a Alonso Mudarra" for solo guitar (1960)

Darius Milhaud (1892-1974)

"Segoviana" for guitar solo, Op. 366 (1957)

Performed by

Dmitry Illarionov guitar

Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953)

Quintet ("Trapeze" ballet music) for oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and double bass, Op. 39 (1924)

Performed by

Olga Tomilova oboe

Igor Fedorov clarinet

Marina Katarzhanova violin

Pavel Romanenko viola

Pavel Stepin double bass

Part II

Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

"Metamorphoses" - etude for 23 solo strings (1945)

Performed by


Rodion Petrov

Karen Shakhgaldian

Elena Korzhenevich

Sergey Sukhobrusov

Ayako Tanabe

Oksana Kolyasnikova

Vasilisa Haddad

Yana Shchegoleva

Nikita Budnetsky

Vladimir Soluyanov


Pavel Romanenko

Evgeny Shchegolev

Lyubov Lazareva

Ilya Hoffman

Anna Chugaeva


Boris Andrianov

Peter Kondrashin

Sergey Suvorov

Galina Malyan

Maria Zaitseva

Double bass:

Vitaly Veselovsky

Nikita Kecher

German Danilov

Related videos

Loading relevant videos...